a boycott on going through the motions of life…

9 Nov

My sis hands me this book and tells me to read it.  For a while I have been sort of lost about my identity…who I am, what I want to do, what I am supposed to do, and what does God want me to do.  I have big dreams and ideas of things I want to do, but get tripped up when I start to take on the task by two things. 

  1.  Fear.  What if I fail?  What if I try to give birth to my idea and it doesn’t catch on, or people think it’s lame…in turn that’ll mean I am lame.
  2. Practicality.  I come from parents who are the epitome of practical.  “Don’t dream big because you don’t have the money for that.  Don’t take risks, because you need health insurance and a job that will last.  Be cautious and careful and PRACTICAL.”

To address the first one, this one is the one that makes the biggest impact.  Umm, yeah I am lame and care too much about what others think of me, which makes me feel even lamer…especially if they think I am lame..huh?  Anyway, the second one is a little more realistic in that I have a family who needs food, health insurance, a home, and everything else.  So even though I may think my parents need to be more dreamer-like…I can understand.

So back to the book, it’s called Tribes by Seth Godin and although I am not even close to being done, it has undeniably sparked up my passion again and caused my wheels to start turning faster….it reassures my feelings of not wanting to do something I completely hate and turn my passion into something worthwhile.  No need to worry, I completely understand my responsibilities so it’s not like I am skipping out on them so I can go live a dreamer life…but it does encourage me to think outside the box and work to figure things out instead of giving up and going through the motions in life instead of living it.

Do you have big dreams, ideas, or passions that are sitting on the sidelines?  How do you work to keep them alive?

3 Responses to “a boycott on going through the motions of life…”

  1. michelle November 9, 2010 at 2:31 pm #

    You know, if there weren’t people in the world with BIG dreams and BIG ideas, where would we be? So happy you’re encouraged cause you have really really good ideas and I pray God gives you the courage to live them out girlfriend!

  2. Lisa November 9, 2010 at 2:36 pm #

    Rejection and acceptance are two things that can keep us following through with our dreams. But we need to keep our eyes fixed on Jesus.

    • christine November 10, 2010 at 6:10 am #

      totally agree with you Lisa..thanks for the comment!

Leave a Reply

