OUT with bratty holiday blues and IN with a heart of thanksgiving…

24 Nov

So the holiday season is here…and while I am excited, there is always a distraction that comes with the holidays.  You see it everywhere…commercials, radio ads, print ads, store windows…shopping time.  Things are pretty tight right now, so the shopping and all that is gonna get a raincheck (indefinitely)…and I can’t help but feel frustrated or weary when I think about our financial struggles.   I love my family and I love spending time with them..giving thanks and singing happy birthday to our Lord Jesus…but satan seems to take those wonderful things and taint them.  “I wish I could buy that for the kids, or get those decorations, or create that fancy dinner…etc…” or “When will we stop struggling?”  What a brat, right? As I start to get down about the whole thing, and believe me it happens too often than I would like to admit, I try to take a deep breath and start remembering what the holidays are really about.  Giving thanks for all the things we take for granted and forget to give thanks for usually helps me get things back in perspective.  Also, it always happens that when I am feeling that way, I read scriptures or I hear a sermon or about a situation where things are worse…and right away I my cries of frustration turn into cries of thanksgiving.  I am so grateful to have my hope in Him…that rich or poor He is with me…that I would rather be struggling and have Him, than to have everything else in the world without Him..

Do you ever feel like this?  How do you keep your spirits up, when satan attempts to bring them down during the holiday season?

7 Responses to “OUT with bratty holiday blues and IN with a heart of thanksgiving…”

  1. Jenifer M November 24, 2010 at 7:40 am #

    The holidays (and every day should be for that matter) are all about God. Praise Him, giving thanks to Him, helping others, and spending time with family and friends. It should never be about “stuff” though we all at some point make it that. My prayer this year has been that through the holidays we can take time out and really truly focus on Christ and the true meaning. Thank you for this post.

    • christine November 24, 2010 at 9:07 am #

      you’re so right jenifer, everyday should be about God, not just the holidays…Happy Thanksgiving!

  2. Lisa November 24, 2010 at 8:14 am #

    This is my heart too – I would rather be struggling with Jesus than have “things” without Him. My heart has been, if being in need everyday is what keeps me close to God, then so be it! I need God more than anything else. What we focus on is magnified in our lives. So if we focus on what we don’t have, then our situation can seem hopeless. But when we focus on God, His is magnified and our lives are hopeful.
    Happy Thanksgiving!

    • christine November 24, 2010 at 9:09 am #

      exactly! I see it in my own life…sometimes i need that hardship to get my focus back on Him….Happy Thanksgiving!

  3. Julie Favis November 24, 2010 at 8:35 am #

    I make sure that I stay close to Jesus by prayer and His Word. The emptiness without Him is far worse than any struggles. “So then, just as you received Christ Jesus as Lord, continue to live in him, rooted and built in him, strengthened in the faith as you were taught, and overflowing with thankfulness. See to it that no one takes you captive through hollow and deceptive philosophy, which depends on human tradition and the basic principles of this world rather than in Christ.” Colossians 2:6-8
    Love you!

    • christine November 24, 2010 at 9:11 am #

      awesome verse julie!!! I am grateful to have a sis who shares the same love for Jesus and supports me through my hardships!!!love u too!!

  4. Christy November 25, 2010 at 12:13 am #

    Hi there… Do you know I just now realized you commented on my blog a little while back. I wanted to stop by and say hello and thanks for your sweet words. i now want to read the entry you were talking about. I hope you have a wonderful Thanksgiving! Here’s to resting in His perfect peace and giving thanks for all we have. Many blessings to you and your family!

Leave a Reply

