the root of my issues???

7 Dec

I have a lot of issues!  Umm…my hate relationship with my weight is a big one.  I am beginning to think that all of my other issues stem from my weight issues.  My lack of energy.  My insecurities.  My unhealthiness.  Don’ t get me wrong….i don’t have any big health problems…just the lack of a healthy weight problem, which causes a “laziness” problem because I have no energy, which causes a grumpy problem because I am overwhelmed by the things that don’t get done, which causes a depression problem because I feel like a loser!  I know you might think I am reaching here, but I don’t think so.  No energy means less playtime or enjoyment of playtime with my kids.  Grumpiness means more arguments or fights or tension with others in my family.  Depression means I stay in that state of mind which does not allow me to get better at anything.  If this sounds like I am talking in circles, it’s because I am.  It’s the cycle I have been for what feels like my whole adult life.  So what in the world do I do?  My plans to get healthy never get followed through.  Is it because I am planning too much?  Am I looking at this way to legalistic in thinking that I have to plan everything…work out 4 times a week, eat more fruits and vegetables, drink 8 glasses of water a day, less carbs, more fiber, more protein…on and on…maybe I give myself too many rules at once.  It’s like when I make my to do list…I put everything I need to get done on it and try to get it done in one day….i’m sorry if my words are giving you a headache already. 

Along with my desire to shed pounds, I have also felt a bit of conviction when it comes to my health.  This body, this face, this heart, this mind, and every other part of me were gifted to me.  It’s not mine, it’s the Lord’s.  It’s easy to think that this body is mine.  That He doesn’t see me taking bad care of myself.  I mean what would I do if someone asked me to take care of their dog or child or even their plants?  I would intentionally make sure that I did what I had to to take care of it.  Why is it different when it comes to me?   So where does that leave me?  It leaves me with a body I have mistreated and not cared for.   

Well, forget the rules and the plans..one thing at a time might be just what I need…so today is my first attempt  in trying to change my lifestyle from unhealthy to healthy.  To start caring for this body and treating it like a gift.  Why am I telling you about it?  Ummm…maybe I am just scared that if I kept it to myself it would be too easy to give up.  Too easy to cheat.  Yes I know…it might just all be in my head…but this accountablitiy might help in getting it done… with that, my first step is water.  I am soooooo bad at drinking water…I am constantly dehydrated because I live off coffee…why because I am always tired…and as lame as I feel about this baby step, it might just be the jump start I need….

Have you ever jump started a healthy lifestyle?  What was one of your first steps?  Any tips would be awesome!

7 Responses to “the root of my issues???”

  1. Lisa December 7, 2010 at 8:41 am #

    I’m going to follow your lead today and just focus on drinking more water. I’ve been thinking a lot about this subject too. I think it is hypocritical to ask God to help with minor healthy issues if my actions, or inactions, maybe the cause of the issues in the first place. I want to be a good steward of this body God has given me. Let’s challenge each other. 🙂

    • christine December 7, 2010 at 9:28 am #

      yay! so glad i’m not going it alone:)

  2. Jenifer M December 7, 2010 at 8:49 am #

    I’ve been going through the same. At the start of summer I was determined to loose the weight. I became very strict with what I ate and even did a small work out. I lost ten pounds but stopped there. When it comes to my pepsi and sweets I have little self control. This is something I really need to give to God. As you said, this body is His. I care for my children and husband more than this body that God is ‘lending’ me. I need to care for it better. Thank you for the boost!

    • christine December 7, 2010 at 9:31 am #

      I definitely have issues with sweets too:) I’m happy we can encourage eachother..we all need boosts!!!

  3. Norma Gurrola December 8, 2010 at 9:40 am #

    God wants to us to go to Him and talk to Him abut EVERYTHING! What exactly IS everything? Well, every aspect of our lives. We tend to seek God’s direction when we need to make big decisions, like a job, buying a house, a car, etc. But when we need to lose weight we utter “oh God help!” and that’s just about it. I’m not saying this is what you’re doing, I’m admiting that often times I do the same thing. I struggle with working out. I cry out “oh God help” but I do this while sitting on the couch watching the cooking channel or watching the babies.

    God wants us to go to Him because He loves us, wants a relationship with us, wants to commune with us and died because He REALLY REALLY wants us to live with Him all eternity. So in short (ha! riight), go to Him, and ask Him for strenght to drink more water and less coffee. You will completely bless His heart…

    • christine December 8, 2010 at 9:46 am #

      thank you so much for those encouraging words..you are right…i do it too, ask passionately for those big decisions, but not so much for the little ones…i will definitely be asking God to help me with my water drinking:)

  4. Bianca December 16, 2010 at 3:56 pm #

    I’m drinking water today. Thanks for the gentle reminder 🙂

Leave a Reply

