the most important act of service…

12 Jan

Talking to a friend about the problems she is facing….talking to a friend about the problems I am facing…seeing on t.v. the problems that everyday people and the world are facing….all of these can have a worrisome effect on all of us.  I mean, how in the world do we help?  Money? Service? Advocate?  All these solutions or suggestions might sound great, but at the same time…I don’t have a lot of money to donate, I mean we struggle sometimes to make ends meet.  I can give some time, but what if I can’t give that much…I mean with the kids school and tasks to be done at home…sometimes I can barely find the time to catch my breath. 

There is one place we can start….prayer.  In the past several months, I have been really noticing that prayer works.  Yes I know…I have been a Christian for most of my life…I read…pray…believe that God answers prayer and hears us.  But for some reason I never got it.  I always saw my friend’s prayers being answered.  My husband’s prayers being answered.  But I always felt (not sure why) that God wasn’t really that concerned with my prayers.  Could it have been that I felt like I slacked when it came to praying?  Maybe that I didn’t have enough faith for what I was praying?  That maybe somehow my needs weren’t that big of a deal compared to those of others?  Or even that I didn’t know how to pray right?  All of these were wrong.

My insecurities got the best of me and I would pray with a wishful mindset instead of a hopeful one.  I mean, I know God can do anything….but the question was would He.  It was kind of like, “If He does then awesome, but if He doesn’t then I must have done something wrong…or maybe He didn’t want to”.

I understand that we don’t always get the answer that we want…but to see the answered prayer, whether it’s what we want or what we need is so amazing.  That the God of the universe…beginning and the end, actually hears me, and cares about what I am saying …big or small…is overwhelming.

Anyway…so whether I can get to someone in need or am at home watching it…I know that I can make a difference by praying.  This in no way takes away from our call to serve or that we can find every excuse not to, but it’s more of an invitation to do the most important service to anyone…pray for them.

4 Responses to “the most important act of service…”

  1. Jenifer January 12, 2011 at 6:58 am #

    Prayer is powerful! Great post!

    • christine January 12, 2011 at 7:26 am #

      I so thankfully realizing that!

  2. Lisa January 12, 2011 at 7:24 am #

    God was kind of speaking to me about the same thing this morning. We are to die to self daily and one way to do that is to pray for others. When we do this, we are taking our focus off ourselves. There’s no greater gift we can give someone than to pray for them.
    Thanks for this post!

Leave a Reply

