don’t beat the sheep…

17 Jan

I always feel so refreshed when I come out of church.  I don’t feel condemned or put down.  I feel loved and covered in grace.  Our pastor has this amazing gift to teach in love.  I don’t think I have ever felt the love out of any other pastor.  He has tremendous love for his congregation.

As I was sitting in church yesterday, he said something that hit my heart.  He said ,”Don’t beat the sheep.”  Sheep have to be led.  They know and trust their shepherd so they follow him.

Now he was talking about sharing with people the gospel and how we can sometimes get legalistic and start telling others what they should and should not be doing and what they should and should not have done.

I understood that part, but what woke me up is the fact that I can get like that with my husband and my kids…..

“You should be reading more…”

“You shouldn’t have acted that way…”

“You should not listen to that music or watch those movies…”

“You should have been nicer…”

On and on…what a nag right?  But more than that, where’s the love?  Where’s the grace? 

Now…first of all I have a huge log in my own eye, so I should stop checking for specks in the eyes of others.  Second of all, I hate it when someone nags at me…what ‘s to say that my family enjoys it any better?  And third…my sheep, meaning my children, will not learn anything from my judgement or condemnation, or nagging!

Loving them through their struggles and teaching them the right way to go by example and through the Lord’s teachings I think would be a better way. 

John 10:27 (New International Version, ©2010)

27 My sheep listen to my voice; I know them, and they follow me.

One Response to “don’t beat the sheep…”

  1. Lisa January 17, 2011 at 2:29 pm #

    That’s an excellent point. It’s been said that our children will watch what we do more than listen to what we say. We should lead by example.
    Thanks for this post.

Leave a Reply

